Sunday, March 28, 2010

Guest Conductor Vasily Petrenko to Lead the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra in All Tchaikovsky Program

APRIL 8 - 10, 2010

Concert To Feature Pianist Barry Douglas
Performing Tchaikovsky’s Piano Concerto No. 1
Guest Conductor Vasily Petrenko will lead the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra in Tchaikovsky’s Manfred Symphony and Piano Concerto No. 1, with guest pianist Barry Douglas. The concerts will be April 8 - 10, 2010 at 8:00 p.m. at Atlanta Symphony Hall at the Woodruff Arts Center.

Fanfare Pre-Concert Dinner Buffet

A great ASO tradition returns in the 2009-2010 season — Fanfare, the pre-concert buffet-style dining by Restaurant Associates, will be available to all concertgoers at all Delta Classical, SuperPops, and Coca-Cola Holiday concert-evening performances from 6:00 – 8:00 p.m…

Concert Preview Talks

Audiences have the opportunity to learn more about the music they’ll be hearing at concerts with free Concert Previews, hosted by ASO Insider and Program Annotator Ken Meltzer. Join Mr. Meltzer and his special guests, —composers, conductors, and musicians—for lively and informative discussions. All concert previews are located in Atlanta Symphony Hall and are free and open to all concert ticket-holders. (Speakers and locations are subject to change.)

About the Repertoire

TCHAIKOVSKY (1840-1893) Manfred Symphony

In the fall of 1868, the Russian critic Vladimir Stasov wrote to Berlioz. In his letter, Stasov included a scenario for a symphony based upon Lord Byron’s 1817 dramatic poem, Manfred (Byron’s Childe Harold had provided the inspiration for Berlioz’s Harold in Italy). But Berlioz, now in the final months of his life, declined the offer. Hector Berlioz died on March 8, 1869, at the age of 65. . .

TCHAIKOVSKY (1840-1893) Piano Concerto No. 1

Tchaikovsky composed his First Piano Concerto in the span of approximately seven weeks, completing it on January 2, 1875. Three days after putting the finishing touches on the work, Tchaikovsky played his new Concerto for Nikolai Rubinstein—head of the Moscow Conservatory, and a superb concert pianist Tchaikovsky, then a professor at the Conservatory, hoped that Rubinstein would agree to be the soloist in the Concerto’s premiere…

About the Artists

Vasily Petrenko was born in 1976 and started his music education at the St Petersburg Capella Boys Music School – the oldest music school in Russia. He then studied at the St Petersburg Conservatoire and has also participated in masterclasses with such major figures as Ilya Musin, Mariss Jansons, Yuri Temirkanov and Esa-Pekka Salonen. Between 1994 and 1997, Petrenko was Resident Conductor at the St Petersburg State Opera and Ballet Theatre in the Mussorgsky Memorial Theatre

Hailed as “a supremely talented and genuine artist,” Barry Douglas is one of the most versatile and brilliant pianists of today. Active as an orchestral soloist, recitalist, chamber musician, conductor and festival director, his artistry has been acclaimed by critics and audiences worldwide …

About the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra
The Atlanta Symphony Orchestra, now in its 65th season, is considered one of America’s leading orchestras, known for the excellence of its live performances, presentations, renowned choruses, and its impressive list of Grammy® Award-winning recordings …

This concert is part of the Delta Classical Concert Series. Delta Air Lines is the Official Airline of the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra.

Single tickets for these performances are $20 to $75. All single for the 2009-2010 are now available online at or by calling (404) 733-5000. Tickets may also be purchased at the Woodruff Arts Center Box Office located in the Woodruff Arts Center at 15th and Peachtree Streets. Box office hours are Monday through Friday 10am-8pm, and Saturday and Sunday, 12pm-8pm.


Delta Classical Series
Atlanta Symphony Hall, Memorial Arts Building, Woodruff Arts Center
Thursday, April 8, 2010, 8:00 p.m.
Friday, April 9, 2010, 8:00 p.m.
Saturday, April 10, 2010, 8:00 p.m.
Vasily Petrenko, conductor*
Barry Douglas, piano
Atlanta Symphony Orchestra
TCHAIKOVSKY Manfred Symphony
TCHAIKOVSKY Piano Concerto No. 1
Community News You Can Use
Click to read MORE news:
Twitter: @gafrontpage
Twitter: @readmylipstick
Twitter: @hhpotterystudio

No comments: